Trusting the Lord

Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make your paths straight.
Proverbs 3: 5-6

I don’t understand how it could possibly be God’s will for my daughter to live apart from her mother and her sister.  It would make sense if she were being discipled or, at the very least, being encouraged to attend church.  It would make even more sense if she were making disciples or, at the very least, encouraging folks to attend church.  But she isn’t.  And because she knows that I will encourage her to pray and read her Bible and insist that she go to church, she’d rather not talk to me.  And I can’t imagine that this is how God planned it.

 And the thing is, it doesn’t matter whether I understand it or whether I like it.  He is sovereign, and nothing is beyond His control.  It is the way it is for whatever reason, and He may or may not choose to reveal that reason to me.  All I need to know is that He is faithful.  I can trust Him.

And I do.

 

 

10 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family

10 responses to “Trusting the Lord

  1. 😦 My heart is breaking for you as you can’t stop your daughter’s rebellion.

    🙂 My heart rejoices with you at just how big our God is, to let you still call Him sovereign!

  2. Sometimes we suffer for another’s rebellion against God, as you are with your daughter. I don’t know why, but when I know I’ve sinned and deserve God’s chastisement, it seems easier to bear and more justified (in my mind, not God’s) than when a loved one is being rebellious and I’m suffering because of my love and concern for them.

    I don’t have any easy answers, Brenda, but know I love you and I’m praying for the whole situation.

    Love and hugs,

    Diane

  3. I’m praying for you all Brenda.

  4. Oh Brenda, I cry with you. Thank for showing your heart and testimony in a time of a broken heart. Praying for you.

  5. It’s not something anyone could understand, Brenda. And I know it hurts so much you can’t stand it. But you answered your own question. You’ve got the right answer. It’s just very difficult to accept.

  6. Brenda- Stopping by to share that Amy passed away today. Rocks in my Dryer has a post. Thought you would want to know.

  7. There is a time and a place for everything and everyone. Not everyone is called to make disciples or to be discipled. One of the best ways to worship God, our Creator, is to live out your life happily and in harmony. God wouldn’t have made us so diverse and unique if He wanted us all to do the same things.

  8. Brenda, I’m so sorry you have had to go through this…people have been given a free will here on earthy, and sometimes that means not everything goes according to His perfect will…but even then, I do believe when people are praying, God can take the negative and turn it for good! I’ll be praying for your family!

  9. Oh Brenda–your post today mirrors my own just posted this morning. You are so right…there is so much about this journey we do not understand. And yet, as you have resolved, when we continue to surrender even the things that seem to be laughing in the face of God………He is still in control. The enemy will not win this battle dear friend……you have given the battle over to the One who has already won the victory!

    I will continue to pray for your daughter….that God will unleash a mighty miracle in her life and her attitude–that He will bless your faithful obedience and faith.

    Diane

  10. Yes I concur Brenda, you are not in the wrong, but it is hard to grasp why children rebel from a christain parent. They do however I see it all the time. Especially teenagers who don’t want to hear anything about the Lord when they want to find there own way.
    Sometimes from what I have seen with wonderful Godly parents who’s children are in deep rebellion, you just have to give it space. You keep praying and searching God’s will for your children but you can’t make them believe what you do and ultimately that is a dangerous place for them but as in God’s word he will NOT force himself on anyone they have free will and they are at a certain point in there lives responsible for the wrong choices they make. We as parents want to give them Grace but they won’t take it until they are ready. She will be able to see the example in you even if word’s arent spoken. I know God can intervien, and I will continue to pray for your mother’s heart and your daughter that her eyes will open and she will get it.
    Blessings Brenda.

Leave a Reply

