Anticipating a Good Day

Tomorrow, I will be meeting with a claims adjuster to sign over the title of my car to my insurance company.  My 2005 Dodge Stratus, which we purchased in January, was totaled a week ago Monday when Teen #1 pulled into the path of an oncoming car.  She did stop, she just didn’t wait for the car to go by before going again.  She didn’t get a scratch on her, nor did the other driver, thank God.  Judging from the damage to the driver’s side door, she was spared by nothing other than His hand of protection.

Right after it happened, she called me at work.  “Mom, I just had a wreck.”  My brain obviously didn’t process that bit of information right away, as evidenced by my reply.  “What did you do that for?”  I expect a nomination for Mother of the Year any day now.

She did ask me later if was angry, and I told her it had never even crossed my mind to be angry.  I’m so thankful she wasn’t hurt.  I told her that she really needed to hit her knees and thank God, not only for His protection, but also for the wake up call.  Now would be a good time for her to take seriously all my warnings about using her cell phone or changing radio stations while driving.  No, she wasn’t distracted at the time of the wreck, but she was in a hurry because she was late coming to pick me up from work, and she was afraid I wouldn’t let her go hang out with her friends later.  There are many lessons to be learned from one split-second decision.

We went shopping at car lots last weekend, and I’m hopeful that our settlement will afford me a nicer, albeit 2 years older, mode of transportation.  If we are able to purchase the 2003 Altima, our insurance rate will go down, which will offset the rise resulting from adding a teen driver to our policy.

Also, the accident forced us to do necessary repairs on our Camry, which will be hers when she turns 18.  It’s almost 10 years old and has over 203,000 miles on it, but it’s a great car that will serve her well until she’s ready to buy one on her own.  And even though she’s now a higher insurance risk, she will be able to afford the liability coverage.

I just hope my “new” car will be as dependable as the Camry.

Praying your day is a good one!

6 Comments

Filed under Family

6 responses to “Anticipating a Good Day

  1. Thank God she wasn’t seriously injured!

    I live in fear of “that” phone call. Jessica and Jason both take chances and are inattentive. Sooner or late it’s gonna catch up to them and it scares me to death.

  2. I can only imagine how you froze when you got that call. That’s the phone call you never want to get but thank God she wasn’t injured. This could have turned out very differently.

    What a hard way to learn such a lesson. Let’s hope that was her first and last accident. Poor thing. She must have been scared half to death, as I’m sure you were.

  3. This is the second accident post I’ve read today that could have been so much worse. Thank the Lord for his protection. I hope you get a good car!

  4. Praise God, a car can replaced. Sometimes those lessons that you spoke of are necessary but scary for a parent nonetheless. Hope your new car is a good one!

  5. I’m so glad everyone is safe, Brenda. I’ve got to get you on my Bloglines–right now–I’m missing stuff here. 😦

  6. Oh, my goodness! Did everything work out better with the new car?

Leave a Reply

