Cell Phones and Teen Health

Studies show that cell phone usage may be hazardous to your health. Yeah, I know this is not news, but I find it interesting that of all the dangers mentioned here and in this article, as well as here, here, and here, there have been no warnings to teens about the hazards of excessive use of text messaging.  I know!  I’m outraged.

You’ve all seen the ridiculous warning labels they put on hairdryers, curling irons, and coffee cups.  Why are there no warning labels on cell phones?  I have half a mind to write to the manufacturers of these devices and demand action.

I’m thinking something like this might be an effective deterrent:  Warning!  Blatant disregard of plan limits is strongly discouraged.  Exceeding your minutes may have dire consequences, including, but not limited to, dismemberment and/or death, especially if your mother has already grounded you in the past for the same offense.  Now go to your room!  

10 Comments

Filed under Family, Fun, Humor/Satire

10 responses to “Cell Phones and Teen Health

  1. I’d be interested in finding out if it works. In a few years Emmy will most likely have a phone glued to her hands….*Sigh…….*

    Love and hugs,

    Diane

  2. Oh for laughing out loud! Hysterically funny…..and yet…so true!

    We’ve settled into a family plan with our provider and it seems to have settled the overage problem….still, our two sons have developed “Cell phone ear” which looks strikingly similar to boxer’s ear!!!!

    We still haven’t figured out what to do about that!

    Diane

  3. Too true, Brenda. And the next warning should be about talking on the cell phone while driving. That one makes me crazy.

  4. I really get sick of the cell phone mentality. I watched Dr. Phil the other day about the texting disaster that is going on – people being killed while teens are texting. This young woman was so proud of how fast and accurately she could text while driving with a stick shift, and probably eating and changing her cd. The young guy who came on to try to convince her that she was endangering other lives (not to mention her own), she just DIDN’T GET IT. Unbelievable – he killed a guy on a bike and his life will never be the same. This young woman is proud of the fact that she texts about 5000 times a week, I think it was.

  5. I really like our unlimited free text plans. The rest of the service kind of stinks, but we get free texting. My 15 year old hates talking on the phone (!) but she will text to let me know what’s going on.

    This was a funny post!!

  6. I really can’t stand people who talk on their cell phones in public – I know I do it sometimes, but I try to keep it to a minimum!

    Just wanted to let you know I’m hosting a giveaway – come check it out! Thanks!

  7. I think you should add the Fear of God in there somewhere. My Mama always used that one on me.

  8. Hayden just got a cell phone (he also got a job at Chick-fil-a!), and he and our oldest son are splitting the monthly charge to add unlimited text messaging to our phones. Supposedly this benefits my husband and I, too, except he’s never sent a text msg. and I send about 2 a year.

  9. Hey! I need to update my links so I don’t lose you!

  10. I’ve been missing your wit and your comments, and your more serious posts. Hope you’re having a good life!

Leave a Reply

