The Great Sadness of The Shack

Well, I finally picked up a copy of the book everyone’s been raving about.  After reading several negative reviews, I had decided that I wouldn’t waste the money, but I kept running across blogs that had nothing but praise for the novel and curiosity got the best of me.  That, and I thought perhaps I could put my discernment skills to the test.

So now that I’ve read it, what’s my reaction?  I don’t think it’s a story for children.  I was quite put off by The Missy Project – and the idea that this book “offers one of the most poignant views of God and how he relates to humanity that has been written in our time.”  Seriously?  It’s a work of fiction!

Not that it isn’t a good piece of fiction.  But therein lies “The Great Sadness.”  People are reading this fictional story about a fictional god and claiming that they’re finding within its pages a life-changing experience, a better understanding of God’s love, even a deeper relationship with God.  Huh?

Then, when error after error is pointed out, they rush to defend the book, claiming “It is fiction, you know.  It wasn’t intended to be a theology book.”  Can’t have it both ways, folks.

The author discusses his main character’s theological issues and suggests that “Nobody wanted God in a box, just a book.”  How ’bout we slap a dress on him/her, stick her in the kitchen and call her “Papa”?  That’ll fix your theological errors.  Sno ’nuff.

4 Comments

Filed under Discernment, Doctrine, Faith

4 responses to “The Great Sadness of The Shack

  1. I haven’t read it. Probably won’t. For all the reasons you talk about here. I’m very suspicious of any book or movement that gets people that riled–distracting them from the true and inspired Word of God. (It’s not like this book pointed people to the Word or the Christ, did it?)

    Sooooo glad to see you back blogging, Brenda!

  2. Hey, Brenda! Glad you are back. I was thinking about you just the other day.

    Haven’t read the book. Most likely won’t. Thanks for your perspective!

  3. Regarding the Shack:
    I read it after hearing all the noise it made, and I enjoyed it.
    I am intrigued how the author used whatever writing ability he has to always point to Christ, and wet my appetite for more of who God is. I think the author was just trying to tell a story, and it affected a great population of people that maybe (just maybe) needed to read it. I think it is incredibly egotistical to believe that a human can’t tell a story that points to the heart of who God is. Have you ever read Redeeming Love? That book is fiction but points you to the heart of God. I don’t believe the author was trying to replace the bible, but to tell a story pointing to the heart of God. Can a human get theology wrong? Absolutely, are you to judge them, or their fruit? I for one appreciate his story telling.

  4. Sure, it’s a good story. I believe I said as much in the 1st sentence of the 3rd paragraph above. However, we should always carefully examine any work purporting to represent God to see if it aligns with scripture. There is a reason God gave us His Word.

    Romans 1:18-23
    The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness, since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. For since the creation of the world God’s invisible qualities—his eternal power and divine nature—have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.
    For although they knew God, they neither glorified him as God nor gave thanks to him, but their thinking became futile and their foolish hearts were darkened. Although they claimed to be wise, they became fools and exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images made to look like mortal man and birds and animals and reptiles.

Leave a Reply

