Daily Archives: July 13, 2006

Clearing up a bit of confusion…

First of all, let me just say again THANK YOU for all your prayers concerning my girls and our living arrangements. My gratitude is immeasurable. God bless you all.

Secondly, I am praying for each and every one of you, continually. My prayer list is growing, which is growing my prayer life, and that’s a very good thing. The reason I started this blog was to connect with other Christian mothers, especially those with younger children, to encourage them to be more diligent in nurturing their children’s spiritual growth, and pretty much to serve as an example of how not to do that. Please don’t give complacency even the slightest opening, no matter how discouraging or frustrating your situation. We must always, always cover them in prayer. I realize that many of you do this, some have done so from the beginning, and I’m so grateful for that. For those of you haven’t been as diligent, rest assured that I’ve got you covered, but I urge you to start NOW praying for them and with them. Don’t wait for a crisis. I don’t mean to get all preachy, and I’m not passing judgement. I live in a glass house, and I dare not throw stones.

Thirdly, the reason for this post is to clarify the previous one. I’m not real good at being serious. You could say I have issues with serious. You could also say I have serious issues. Both would be true. (See?) Anyway, for clarity’s sake, I thought I should address a few of my earlier statements. The thing about me being competition for Beth Moore? Beloved, that was meant to be sarcastic. Not that I don’t appreciate the votes of confidence. Oh I do. Yes, ma’am. And the commands I gave my daughter to “get to squeezin’ out some fruit” and to “get godly in a hurry”, while said in all seriousness to her, struck me as rather absurd upon reflection. A girlfriend at work and I giggled over it when I related the conversation to her. My attempt at levity didn’t translate as well to the blog, but that’s ok. You all are aware of my heart’s desire, and your encouragement and support far outweighs a few laughs. You can’t know how deeply grateful I am for all of you.

I am in agreement with Grafted Branch, who pointed out that my requirement of my daughter to squeeze out some fruit is impossible for her to do (of her own ability). I also agree with her statement that I can’t beat her over the head with it if she isn’t born-again. She’s absolutely right. And I am humbled by her willingness to call me on it. I appreciate the candor and grace with which she approached the issue, and I hope that I would be bold enough to do the same. We are, after all, supposed to hold each other accountable, are we not? I admire her for the wonderful example she is.

The good news is that both my daughters are born-again. The bad news is that they’re prodigals. Which brings me to Diane(Praying for your Prodigal)’s comment that I’ve put the enemy on notice. As that was my intention, I feel confident that she’s also correct. I’ve asked the Lord to guide me in my discussions with the girls and to give me words to say that they would comprehend. I may not have phrased them the way He intended, but I do know that they understood. That was confirmed in the conversation I had with each of them today.

Since I’m not easily offended, I tend to shoot off at the mouth, or fingers as it were, without stopping to consider whether something I’ve said could be taken in a way other than it was meant. A good rule of thumb to follow, at least with me, is to think “warped with a weird sense of humor”, but if ever I do offend (or confuse) you, please know that it isn’t intentional. I welcome feedback, especially if I’ve misspoken, so long as the aforementioned example is followed.

Well, I didn’t intend to blog a novel, but I did want to clear that up.

Blessings!

14 Comments

Filed under Faith, Family, Prayer