Daily Archives: August 28, 2006

What’s in a Name?

Well, Barb‘s at it again. She does this thing that inspires me to post when I would otherwise have been uninspired. I just love her. Can’t you tell? Hers is the first name in my word cloud. You were probably thinking that’s just because it’s alphabetical, and while that’s true, it’s also true that we’re like twins separated at birth by a few years and biological parents. Seriously! Yeah, I’m the evil one. How’d you know?

Anyway, I love this idea of hers because I’ve wondered the same thing myself. Not about my own blog, silly. About yours…unless it’s, like, your own name or something, of course. If you’re like me, choosing the name of your blog was more challenging than you expected.

I had chosen a couple of names that were already taken, so I had to come up with something else. I actually agonized over it, because I wanted it to be just right. It had to convey the peace of resting on God’s promises. I wanted it to be welcoming and comfortable, like a front porch. I ran a few ideas past my husband, and when I said “Rocking Chairs and Rainbows?” he said “I like it.” So that settled it.

I hope that you get a “come sit a spell” feeling when you visit, that you’ll feel comfortable sharing your joys and sorrows with me, and that when you go, it’s with the calm assurance that God always keeps his promises.

I’d love to know what inspired the name of your blog. If you would, do a post on your blog, then visit Barb (the good twin) and be sure to leave your link there. I’ll come visit. I promise!

32 Comments

Filed under Blogging, Fun